Pioneer Trivia

"Pioneers Crossing the Plains of Nebraska...

Today we are celebrating the 24th of July.  Duh – that’s the date.  Actually in Utah it is more like the state day where we celebrate the pioneers who crossed the plains and settled in the Salt Lake Valley.

In honor of their sacrifices and all they went through to settle the new frontier I thought I’d find and share some earth shattering story of hope and faith.  I started reading a few of the journals that were kept on the trail.  Rather than some incredible story, I found a funny, everyday trivia to share.

As these wagon trains crossed the plains, they took inventories of supplies and people. We often ask ourselves what we would take if we had to cross the plains with just a wagon – or worse hand cart only, and needing to account for the weight of everything we took.  What I didn’t realize was that they took their entire household.  I don’t mean just their wives and children, I mean also their cats, dogs, chickens, etc.  One wagon train alone took 81 chickens!  Almost 1 chicken for every two people!  No one bothered to put those in the pictures.

As a “modern” household who has chickens, I have a new appreciation for what it required to take a household full of chickens across the plains!  Wow!  I guess they really wanted those eggs.  I enjoy them, but I’ve never had to look at my small flock for food.  Totally different mindset.  Just a good reminder of the luxuries we enjoy.  Nothing miraculous, just some fun trivia!

2 thoughts on “Pioneer Trivia

Leave a Reply

