Singing in the Rain

I live in a hot and dry desert.  Rain is scarce, and we can go entire months here without any precipitation.  In our sheltered lifestyles with city utilities and running water, I have to admit I rarely even think about rainfall.  I understand that water conservation is important, but I don’t have a vested interest in rain – until it results in flash flooding and messes up my house or property.   I don’t even own an umbrella or boots or a waterproof jacket.

I guess that as a nation we are officially in the middle of a drought.  I’ve even heard some people theorize that ultimately the drought is affecting our economy as much as presidential policies.  Could be, I don’t know.

Someone in my area must be praying mighty hard for rain.  I looked up our average July rainfall.  Overall, we average .48 inches in July.  (I think most of that must fall in the mountains, because I’ve seen entire July’s with NO rainfall.)  This year our July total is at 1.62 inches – and it is still raining!  And in the middle of a drought.

If we lived in a less modern society, I would be thanking God for the miracle of abundant rainfall during the drought.

 

Leave a Reply

