Effective Prayer

 

Sunday night I received a very hostile and personally insulting e-mail.  Although I had done nothing wrong, and the sender was taking out something on me that had nothing to do with me, I was understandably shaken and upset.  I didn’t sleep well that night.  My holiday started out with me upset, and very tired.  I eventually moved on and we had a great day, but that night I was unusually exhausted.

As I went to sleep last night I felt impressed to pray that I would sleep well, not just well, but well enough to compensate for the night before.  I slept so wonderfully and completely.  I think that taught me that God really does answer prayers when we are praying for things that he is waiting to give us.  The trick is sometimes finding those things.  It also taught me that healing wounds inflicted by others through no fault of our own is one of the things He is most anxious to help us with.

The miracle in this story is that God can teach and comfort us so effectively although he is not physically right here with us.   He didn’t even need to use pharmaceuticals to let me rest.  Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we could parent and help others just through our influence?  For now, however, I think I am in debt at least one good deed.

 

Leave a Reply

