What Evidence Do We Have?

 

Today I wanted to clarify why all these random posts on eggs and flowers still fit my purpose in finding miracles.  The best way to put it can be found in the story of Alma and Korihor from Alma 30.  A little background.  Korihor is a man who decided to use his freedom of religion to teach against Christ, and to promote religion in general as foolishness and ignorance. Alma was the prophet and governor over all the land.  In chapter 30 they have a wonderful exchange about faith, and signs, and truth.  The entire text can be read HERE.  I just wanted to share one of my favorite parts of that exchange.

 

43 And now Korihor said unto Alma: If thou wilt show me a asign, that I may be convinced that there is a God, yea, show unto me that he hath power, and then will I be convinced of the truth of thy words.

 

 44 But Alma said unto him: Thou hast had signs enough; will ye tempt your God? Will ye say, Show unto me a sign, when ye have the testimony of aall these thy brethren, and also all the holy prophets? The scriptures are laid before thee, yea, and all things denote there is a God; yea, even the bearth, and call things that are upon the face of it, yea, and its dmotion, yea, and also all the eplanets which move in their regular form do witness that there is a Supreme Creator.”

 
In looking to see miracles, I am not asking for more signs.  I am simply seeking to recognize the evidences that I already have.  I feel them around me every day, but I do not always recognize them for anything more than “normal.”  They are “normal” things, but they have a voice that testifies to my heart of the goodness of God.  So that is what flowers, and art, and eggs, and anything else I may continue to blog about has to do with seeing miracles.  Believing has nothing to do with signs and great wonders.  Those things do not convince anyone who does not want to be convinced.  All things, however, do convince those whose hearts want to hear.

 

Andromeda Galaxy

Andromeda Galaxy (Photo credit: Cestomano)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

