Gifts from Father

 

English: Jesus Christ with children

English: Jesus Christ with children (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

When I had my first child, I realized really quickly that children are simply gifts from God.  Each child is entrusted to me, and the best I can hope for is to not mess them up, but allow them the chance to become what their first Father has in store for them.

 

In our faith, each baby is given a blessing when they are born.  This blessing is given through the priesthood and basically gives them their name, and a blessing from their Father in Heaven.  Thinking about it, it is sort of like Princess Aurora receiving gifts from the fairies – or whatever they are.  With each of my children, I quickly identified a single word that summed up their unique talents.  My children were joy, comfort, peace, calm, love, compassion, and strength.

 

Through the years I have been amazed to see how each child, even from young ages, shows each of these unique gifts.  A quick story today is about my youngest, Mr. Strength.  His strength is definitely physical, but it is other things as well.  Yesterday morning this four year old boy opened his eyes, smiled at me, and said something I felt showed real strength of character.  “Mom, I love you.  When I go to preschool I miss you so much.”  It takes a real man to admit when he needs his mother!  Especially this tough little boy who would never show weakness by crying at school.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

