Finances

Finances are not my favorite thing in the world.  My entire married life we have struggled with finances.  Much of it is because I stubbornly insist on being around to raise my own children myself.  My husband struggles severely with employment, and quite honestly he also wants to be a part of raising his children rather than working 24/7.

I started working on taxes yesterday, and again felt a mixture of discouragement and amazement as I am forced to look at our annual income.  I am choosing today to recognize my financial life as a miracle itself.

We live in a very comfortable home.  We have all of the necessities of life.  We enjoy running water, heat, central air, plenty to eat, multiple vehicles and multiple computers.  My children want for little.  The things they don’t have are objects that really don’t matter.  They have two parents who love them and provide a safe place to grow.  They are taught in the ways of the Lord.  They are enjoying good educations, and two of them are attending college.  As a family we are debt free other than the mortgage.  We make it a priority to tithe 10% of our income to God.

Sounds pretty good.  The miracle is that we do all of this on what the government classifies as 40% below the poverty level.  The lowest poverty level classification.  Basically we support a family of 9 on what the government thinks is too little for a family of 3.  Obviously the government knows practically nothing about either faith or finances, but I still recognize it as a miracle.  I do not completely understand how He continues to support us year after year, but I know it takes more than just dollars to do anything of value.

One thought on “Finances

  1. Thank God for the miracle! It’s really nice to see how God multiples what we term little. It’s all about covenant. God is too faithful to break His promises. When He says we should pay our tithes, in return, He opens the windows of heaven and pours out a blessing on us that even our store houses can not contain.

    Your testimony inspires faith in me.

Leave a Reply

