Smooth Transition

It’s been such a busy week, and it is only Wednesday!

Anyhow, yesterday I had to take one of my children out of school due to a long term illness, and begin homeschooling.  I am amazed at how smoothly the transition is going.  In reality I like homeschooling anyway, but that was not the choice we had made for this year, so it was sort of difficult.  If he had gotten ill like this before this day of technology he would have grown up to be basically uneducated, or at least undereducated.  Now, we file paperwork, pay his library fines, then we signed him up for my favorite online curriculum, pick a few novels we want to read together, and we’re good.  He’s struggling getting back into a routine after spending so much time just laying in bed unable to do anything, but now he can work at his own pace.  Two days ago the school was harassing us about incomplete coursework and excessive absences, today we learned about electrical currents, java applets, and started reading about the Holocaust.  Amazing the information we have access to so easily.  Technology miracle anyone?

It is inspiring me to keep focused on the online music courses I am still working on.  I think I just found my test subject!  Shameless plugs:  I love www.time4learning.com through Odessy Learning,  and I hope to finish the coursework for www.learnmusicathome.com – that now is at least online, and somewhat mobile compatible.  A lot of work still to do.

One thought on “Smooth Transition

Leave a Reply

