Time and Perspective

Every March I hold a contest for my piano students.  It is the time of year they start getting too busy or lazy to stay on top of their practice, so I just need to give them a little push.  My children are no exception to the lazy bug, and it helps them as much as anyone.

Yesterday I was explaining to my son how the practice contest was going to work, the prizes, and what he was supposed to work on.  It was too much, he didn’t want to practice, he couldn’t do it, he wanted to give up before he even started.  That evening I set out the song he was working on and his practice chart and just left it on the piano.  Looking for a way to get out of going to bed, he gravitated over to his music.  Suddenly he remembered how much he actually liked the song he was learning, and sat down to practice, doing everything he had been asked to, and more.  This morning, first thing, he has already gotten to work and finished learning the song that he had been putting off for months!

We all know that time changes things, incentives change, and so does perspective.  If I had forgotten that concept, and gotten caught up in the negative emotions of the moment, I would have decided that working with this child was not possible and that it would take a miracle to get him to even try.  Patience, time, and change can allow things to happen that we would have previously considered impossible.  I believe this is one way miracles happen.  It is not because the impossible has occurred, but because time and patience have occurred.

 

Leave a Reply

