Staying Home

Sunday I stayed home to take care of a sick husband.  Generally he should have been able to take care of himself, but I felt it would be a good thing to stay with him this time.  Part of me felt like a kid skipping school, it wasn’t really that great of a reason to not go to church.

He finally fell asleep, and I got ready to go pick up the older kids who were at church by themselves.  I was surprised to hear a knock at the door.  The neighbor around the corner, who I have not talked to for quite a while, was standing there looking for anyone who could help her out.  She had some unexpected car problems, and desperately needed a ride and no one else in the area was home.  It was not a big deal for me because I was on my way out the door to go right by where she needed to go.  It turned out that she was leaving to help out with a musical presentation, and had gotten herself in way over her head.  She was surprised and thrilled to find out that I could also help her with her project.  She had a great idea, but really didn’t now how to pull it off and it was tanking fast.  We’ll get together and figure it out later this week.  I’m probably one of the few people in the area who could help her with that particular problem as well.  It appeared to both of us that things were just supposed to work out that way.

Leave a Reply

