Growth

I’m not sure we really understand growth on any level, so that is why it is my miracle for today.  I watch my “baby” outgrow his clothes, and learn to read, and get along with others, and I stand in awe.  I’ve not heard a really good, scientific explanation of how our body knows how to grow where, and how fast.  Physically, emotionally, spiritually, intellectually, we all grow and develop constantly.  How do we do this?  We understand it is a part of life, everything around us grows – it is a sign of life itself, yet we can not control it or create it.  When we plant something we can provide the conditions for growth, but then the best we can do is stand back and watch.

Yesterday my six year old spent several hours crying due to growing pains.  She also went through pain as she lost a baby tooth, allowing for her larger, adult tooth to come in properly.  As I watch growth around me, I can learn that growth of all types involves pain, stretching, and a better result at the end.  Couldn’t growth be categorized as God directing our paths to something larger and better than before?

Leave a Reply

