Child’s Faith

I try to teach my children to decide what they want in life, consult with the Lord, then go forward to make it happen, having faith that the path will be opened for them.  My middle daughter really wanted to be a part of the theater production this year.  We have some serious scheduling conflicts with the rehearsal times, but told her if she really wanted it to go for it anyway and we would find a way.  She auditioned but didn’t make it.  It was tough but she put on her best face and said “There is always next year.”  The next week she got a call.  They had missed a pile of people to call to invite to be a part of the behind the scenes.  She was ecstatic.  She just wanted to be involved.  Not only that, but the crew she got put on has a different schedule and we have no more scheduling conflicts.

Then there came the mandatory parent meeting.  Both her father and I were working and did not have enough notice to get off of work.  I tried contacting some other parents I knew were involved, but no luck.  Then that morning I got an e-mail that something had come up and we had to make a last minute change to my schedule.  A hole opened up exactly during the parent meeting and I was able to attend.

The best part was my daughter looking at me, smiling, and saying, “You were right Mom.  Things do work out if they are supposed to.”  I smiled back and said, “That was your faith in action Katie.”

 

Leave a Reply

