Taught by Kids

My 7 year old gave me a lesson this week.  We were at an exhibit about the life of Jesus Christ.  You walked around the room and saw chronological photos from his birth to his resurrection and ascension.  I was trying to teach my 5 year old about the resurrection.  We paused at the picture of the crucifixion and I asked him why he thought Christ had allowed them to put him on the cross and kill him.  The answer I was looking for was so that he could die and be resurrected.  He suggested that the men were bad people.  I nodded my head and started to agree with him.  It was then that my daughter stepped in and corrected the both of us.  No, she informed us.  It was because they didn’t know what they were doing and they needed to be forgiven.

She was of course correct.  I guess I need to be a whole lot more careful who I judge to be evil, and how often I forget everyone’s need for a Savior.  There are many things we all do wrong because we don’t fully understand how evil we all really are.  It took a child to remind me of that.  Why is it that children seem to understand these things more clearly sometimes?

Leave a Reply

