Good Deed Chain

English: A small plate with a serving of mashe...

 

This week has had an awesome good deed chain.  I think I came out ahead every single time though.  Saturday night some neighbors dropped off a huge cake and a 10# bag of potatoes.  They sometimes get the old food at the grocery stores, and since we have a large family they often share.  What they didn’t know was that it was my daughter’s 16 year old birthday that day, and I had not gone out to get the cake and ice cream for the next day’s family party yet.  We thoroughly enjoyed the Costco chocolate mousse filled cake.

 

That still left 10# of already getting soft potatoes.  They weren’t really good enough for baked potatoes, but they would be perfect for mashed potatoes.  10# is a lot, even for us, so I thought it would be fun to get a little turkey and have a sort of Thanksgiving time preview.  I have a new roll recipe I am dying to try out as well.  We got the turkey, and looked for someone to enjoy it with us.  We ran into some friends we hadn’t seen in a while and invited them over.   I guess we not only get someone to help us with the potatoes, but he is also going to show us how to fix our car while he is here.  We definitely come out ahead this time.

 

Started getting our big meal ready today and found out that I have another friend whose son is having surgery today.  She sounded pretty stressed out, so I offered to bring them by some dinner as well.  I am already cooking a large meal, what’s another seven people?  I knew we would have plenty of potatoes and rolls, but decided to run to the store and get some extra meat.  I wanted a specific type and so I had to go to a store I do not usually shop at.  I walk in the door and there are tons of discount carts and marked down items in the front.  I guess the store is going through some major management/ownership changes, and they were redoing almost everything.  Although I only went in for the meat and some milk, I obviously ended up buying quite a bit more than I had expected.  Great deals on things we needed though.  As I was standing in line the lady in front of me offered me some coupons that she didn’t need that worked on some of the markdown items, making them quite inexpensive.  When all was said and done, I not only saved the amount I had spent on the food for extra people, but another $100 in addition!!  Talk about coming out ahead!

 

One thought on “Good Deed Chain

Leave a Reply

