Thanksgiving

Appletree

English: Wheat field

One thing I have learned is that you can only notice the miracles around you when you cultivate an attitude of gratitude for the Lord.  Only rarely does he interfere so much that we can see the miracles without looking and being aware that he is helping.  Usually he assists in more quiet ways, and only a grateful and humble heart can even see those assists.  I have appreciated the time I get to spend most days to sit and be quiet and find that assistance.  For Thanksgiving week I hope to focus on things I forget to be thankful for.

Today I am thankful to my Heavenly Father for food.  I was sitting down to eat last night and found myself blessing the food like I do every meal.  Then I thought, why do I always bless the food?  I probably don’t really need divine intervention to assure that it was prepared in a healthy manner.  Half of what we eat we know isn’t good for us anyway, so it is not to plead for good health from the food.  Occasionally it is with gratitude that we had the resources to purchase the food, but we don’t really experience actual hunger in this country.  Most likely I should be praying to remember and recognize that even the food we consume every single day was ultimately provided by our Creator.  Personally I have a tendency to be grateful to the people who directly purchased and prepared it.  I rarely think about the many steps involved in growing, raising, harvesting, packaging, transporting and retailing what I just ate.  I rarely think of everything that has to come together to make it as convenient for me as it really is.  And unfortunately, I almost never actually remember to thank God for all the systems that work together in the earth itself so that I can enjoy a variety of wonderful foods, and the privilege I enjoy of living in extreme convenience.  So this week I will try to actually mean it when I thank him for the food.

 

Leave a Reply

