Prayer and Fasting

We held a family fast this last Sunday for my son.  He has finally shown the first signs of being ready to make some long overdue changes.  The morning after we had fasted for him he shows up bright and early at our home to help his dad with something.  That in and of itself could have been its own miracle as his sleep habits are wildly out of control and he has not felt a desire to help anyone with anything for at least a year.  Miracle number two, he was smiling from ear to ear.  Smiles are good.  Again, he went at least a year, probably more without ever smiling.  When I commented on the smile and downright cheerful attitude he just smiled back and told me he was having a great day.  At 8 am he was having a great day?  Unless I had seen it with my own eyes I wouldn’t have believed that one.  I asked him  if there was any particular reason he was happy, he told me he wasn’t quite ready to share or talk about it yet.  (Now that was simply reassurance I really was talking to the same kid)  He did tell me that he had spent a lot of contemplative thinking time the day before, and is simply very happy about some of the things he was thinking about.

We never told him he was in many, many people’s prayers and fasts that day.  It seems to be working, however.

Leave a Reply

